Future learning

On Monday I recorded a podcast with Museopunks. It’s an interview with Suse Cairns and Jeffrey Inscho about how museums can scan the future and prepare for it. I talked about the importance of considering ‘critical uncertainties’ and their power to disrupt trends so that you can’t easily predict the future, you can only keep trying to imagine it in order to forge an optimal path. Jeffrey described me as an expert on future-scanning but I demurred on that definition, because I feel very tentative around futurism. It’s something that interests me greatly, but I’m only at the start of a learning journey. Mark, my fellow director of Flow and part of our new Learning Planet venture, is a more confident futurist but also still curious to discover more from others. We’ll both be taking part in Pat NESTA’s Futurefest in September, curated by Pat Kane and promoted by the Observer. My session will be a Gardener’s Answer Time with others including Ruth Little and Mike Berner’s Lee – exploring ideas about biosphere consciousness and rewilding.

This and the Museopunks podcast build on a talk I gave at MuseumNext, on the same topic. I’d be keen to know what you think so I can learn from your challenges.

<div style=”margin-bottom:5px”> <strong> <a href=”http://www.slideshare.net/Bridgetmck/bridget-mc-kenzie-museum-scenarios-2020&#8243; title=”Bridget mc kenzie museum scenarios 2020″ target=”_blank”>Bridget mc kenzie museum scenarios 2020</a> </strong> from <strong><a href=”http://www.slideshare.net/Bridgetmck&#8221; target=”_blank”>Bridgetmck</a></strong> </div>

Leave a Reply

